1. Definition Smart Home
  2. Smart Home: the most important advantages
  3. How Smart Home works
  4. Open or closed?
  5. Smart devices for individual tasks
  6. Networking individual smart devices retroactively
  7. Connect two or more smart devices to the system
  8. When you build or renovate
  9. And what about security?

Smart Home is a trend that has intensified and accelerated in recent months thanks to Corona. Most retailers report significantly increasing sales in 2020, the number 1 even of plus 180 % for Smart Home control centres. These are the hubs that network individual smart devices such as lamps, thermostats or door locks. Many people work in the lockdown in the home office or spend more time at home and therefore upgrade their house or apartment smartly.

Definition Smart Home

Smart Home networks home technology via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth and automates devices. They can be conveniently controlled and operated remotely using a smartphone, voice assistant or tablet, for example. There are simple solutions for individual tasks, for example smart lamps, or complex Smart Home systems. They are programmed with scenarios such as "leave house", which, for example, switch off all lamps, activate the door lock and camera, lower the room temperature and check whether the hotplates are really off.

Smart Home: the most important advantages

Smart Home makes our everyday life easier because household appliances such as refrigerators, robot hoovers or washing machines can be operated remotely and relieve us of work.

Example: The fridge recognises what is missing and orders the missing food online - when you get home, the food delivery is waiting for you.

Smart Home increases our living comfort because lamps or multimedia devices can be programmed with scenarios.

Example: You say "Candle Light Dinner" and Alexa or Siri switches off the TV, starts a playlist with songs from the 80s and dims the light in the dining room. Only the candles (still) have to be lit by you...

Smart Home makes our home safe because alarm systems, motion and fire detectors, cameras or lamps can be networked with the building technology.

Examples: When you close the front door, the alarm system switches on - or you programme a "holiday" scenario and no longer have to ask your neighbours to switch the light on and off irregularly.

Smart Home reduces energy consumption and improves the indoor climate because heating, ventilation and sun protection can be controlled automatically.

Examples: The heating lowers the temperature as soon as you leave the house, the ventilation compensates for humidity that is too high or too low, or the blinds lower when the sun shines into the living room.

smart home system

You would like to install a Smart Home System?

Receive up to three non-binding comparison offers from our certified experts free of charge and with just a few clicks.
Get Smart Home Offers

How Smart Home works

The devices run processes that you have programmed beforehand. If you want to use more than one smart device, you need a control centre, also called a hub or gateway. The control centre connects and controls all devices and ensures communication and data exchange. The data is transported wirelessly via radio solutions such as Wi-Fi or Bluetooth or bus systems, which are permanently installed lines.

If you want to retrofit your house or apartment smart, a wireless solution is easier and makes more sense. But if you are building, bus systems make more sense because they work more reliably, consume less power and protect your data better. Common are KNX bus systems, which can be flexibly installed and adapted to your Smart Home concept, and digital power networks, which use power lines for data transport.

Houzy Hint

Tip

With Wi-Fi or Bluetooth solutions, look out for radio standards such as EnOcean, ZigBee or Z-Ware, which have been specially developed for Smart Home devices.

Smart Home control system
With a Smart Home system, (almost) everything at home can be controlled, for example the light or the room temperature.

Open or closed?

There are open and closed control centres for Smart Home systems. Closed control centres work with a manufacturer-specific radio protocol. This means that you can only network the devices of this manufacturer and its cooperation partners. This severely restricts your choice, but the devices work together perfectly and protect your data better. Open control panels support various radio standards and are compatible with many manufacturers. This allows you to operate all devices with a single app.

Houzy Advice

Good to know

If you want to operate and remote control your devices with your smartphone, the control centre should be Homekit-compatible (for iOS) or Google Home-compatible (for Android).

Smart Home wireless devices
With a Smart Speaker, you can also easily control and operate the devices with your voice.

Houzy Hint

Tip

Before you buy a complete system, try out a few simple components first, such as the light control. If you feel comfortable with the app and operation, you can expand the system step by step. If not, look at other systems.

Smart devices for individual tasks

If you only want to automate individual tasks, you do not have to buy a complete system. It is often sufficient to replace individual controllers or switches. For example, you can just replace the old light bulb with a smart light bulb or the old radiator controller with a smart radiator controller, download the app, and you're done. That's enough to dim the light continuously or adjust the temperature to within a tenth of a degree, usually even remotely.

Networking individual smart devices retroactively

If you started with a lamp, then bought a control for the heating and finally added a camera, in the worst case you had to install three apps from three manufacturers. That's why you can't operate the devices centrally. That's why there are free online platforms like IFTTT (If This Then That), which link smart individual solutions via the internet. Or Apple HomeKit and Google Home, which also function as a control centre for the devices of other manufacturers.

Connect two or more smart devices to the system

If you know from the start that you want to network more than two devices, you should buy a system solution with a central base station. This way you only have to install a single wireless box at the router instead of gateways for each lamp, sensor or thermostat. And you can conveniently control the system via a single app and easily automate it with rules. Starter packages with a control centre and command receivers (or actuators) are available from specialist retailers for a few hundred francs.

Houzy Hint

Tip

Smart Home systems can be set up and expanded in a modular way. You can start small and expand the system step by step. Make sure that all devices use the same radio standard, for example EnOcean, ZigBee or Z-Ware.

Smart Home: an intelligent thermostat regulates the temperature automatically
Smart thermostats lower the temperature when you leave the house and raise it again before you return.

When you build or renovate

Building automation with a bus system is safer, more economical in power consumption and more powerful than a wireless installation via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth. If you are building or renovating your house or apartment, the electrician can lay the control cables in the walls with little effort. This way, you can easily connect switches and sockets via the installation bus later on. You have the choice between closed proprietary systems of a manufacturer or open systems such as KNX, a standard for home automation that is now supported by more than 500 companies.

Houzy Hint

Tip

If you do not (yet) want to install a Smart Home system, you should still have empty conduits pulled into all rooms. This way you are prepared for the future and increase the value of the property. If standards change in the meantime, you only need to replace the cables.

And what about security?

Every Smart Home device collects data about you to perform its tasks and is connected to the internet. The refrigerator recognises what is missing and orders the missing food online. It stores this data. Just like the heating system, which needs to know when you leave and return to the house so that it can adjust the temperature. Lifestyle habits can be derived from this data. Much of this data is not sensitive, but some is, for example the data from which conclusions can be drawn about your health, or credit card information. That is why you should be careful and close possible security gaps:

  • After installation, change all standard user names and passwords with individual user names and passwords that only you know and that you do not write down anywhere.
  • Protect the complete Smart Home system with a firewall, access rights and additional encryption.
  • Regularly install all device updates and only install updates that you receive directly from the manufacturer.
  • Change your user names and passwords regularly and never write them down.

Most Smart Home systems are easy to install. For more complex tasks, for example the actuators for a roller shutter drive or a 230 volt switch, you should ask an electrician.

Related articles

Back to Houzy Magazine

Smart Home: Comment rendre votre maison intelligente

4.3.21
Smart Home ajuste par exemple la lumière et l'ambiance.
  1. Definition Smart Home
  2. Smart Home: les principaux avantages
  3. Smart Home, voilà comment ça marche
  4. Ouvert ou fermé?
  5. Appareils intelligents pour des tâches individuelles
  6. Installation ultérieure d’appareils Smart
  7. Connectez deux ou plusieurs appareils intelligents à un système
  8. Lorsque vous construisez ou rénovez
  9. Et qu'en est-il de la sécurité ?

La domotique (Smart Home) est une tendance qui s'est intensifiée et accélérée ces derniers mois grâce à Corona. La plupart des détaillants signalent une augmentation significative des ventes en 2020, le numéro 1 rapportant même une augmentation de 180% pour les centrales de contrôle Smart Home. Ce sont les hubs qui mettent en réseau des appareils intelligents individuels tels que des lampes, des thermostats ou des serrures de porte. De nombreuses personnes travaillent en Lockdown en télétravail ou passent plus de temps à la maison et modernisent donc intelligemment leur maison ou leur appartement.

Definition Smart Home

La technologie Smart Home relie nos appareils via Wi-Fi ou Bluetooth et les automatise. Par exemple, ils peuvent être facilement contrôlés et utilisés à distance avec un smartphone, un assistant vocal ou une tablette. Il existe des solutions simples pour des tâches individuelles, par exemple des lampes intelligentes mais aussi des systèmes de Smart Home complexes. Ils sont programmés avec des scénarios tels que «quitter la maison», qui va éteindre toutes les lumières, activer le verrouillage de la porte et la caméra, baisser la température ambiante et vérifier si les plaques de cuisson sont vraiment éteintes.

Smart Home: les principaux avantages

Les Smart Home facilitent notre vie quotidienne car les appareils électroménagers tels que les réfrigérateurs, les robots aspirateurs ou les machines à laver peuvent être commandés à distance et faire notre travail pour nous.

Exemple: le réfrigérateur détecte ce qui manque et commande les produits d'épicerie manquants en ligne - lorsque vous rentrez chez vous, la livraison d'épicerie vous attend.

Smart Home augmente notre confort de vie car les lampes ou les appareils multimédias peuvent être programmés avec des scénarios.

Exemple: vous dites «Dîner aux chandelles» et Alexa ou Siri éteint la télévision, lance une playlist avec des chansons des années 80 et tamise la lumière dans la salle à manger. Vous n'avez plus qu'à allumer vous-même les bougies ...

Smart Home rend notre maison plus sûre car les systèmes d'alarme, les détecteurs de mouvements et d'incendies, les caméras ou les lampes peuvent être mis en réseau avec la technologie du bâtiment.

Exemples: lorsque vous fermez la porte d'entrée, le système d'alarme se met en marche - ou vous programmez un scénario «Vacances» et vous n'avez plus à demander à vos voisins d'allumer et d'éteindre la lumière de façon irrégulière.

Smart Home réduit la consommation d'énergie et améliore le climat intérieur car le chauffage, la ventilation et la protection solaire peuvent être contrôlés automatiquement.

Exemples: le radiateur baisse la température dès que vous quittez la maison, la ventilation compense un taux d'humidité trop élevé ou trop bas ou les stores s'abaissent lorsque le soleil brille dans le salon.

Automatiser la maison grâce à un système de Smart Home
Avec un système de Smart Home, (presque) tout à la maison peut être contrôlé, par exemple la lumière ou la température ambiante.

Smart Home, voilà comment ça marche

Les appareils fonctionnent selon des processus que vous avez préalablement programmés. Si vous souhaitez utiliser plusieurs appareils intelligents, vous avez besoin d'un centre de contrôle, également appelé Hub ou Gateway. Le centre de contrôle connecte et contrôle tous les appareils et assure la communication et l'échange de données. Les données sont transmises sans fil via des 'solutions radio' telles que Wi-Fi ou Bluetooth ou des 'systèmes de bus', qui sont des lignes installées en permanence.

Mais si vous construisez, les 'systèmes de bus' ont plus de sens car ils fonctionnent de manière plus fiable, consomment moins d'énergie et protègent mieux vos données. Les systèmes de bus KNX qui peuvent être posés de manière flexible et adaptés à votre concept de Smart Home, sont les plus répandus avec les réseaux de courant numériques utilisant des lignes électriques pour le transport de données.

Astuce: avec les solutions Wi-Fi ou Bluetooth, pensez aux normes sans fil telles que EnOcean, ZigBee ou Z-Ware, qui ont été spécialement développées pour les appareils domestiques intelligents.

Smart Home systèmes sans fil
Avec un haut-parleur intelligent, vous pouvez aussi facilement contrôler et faire fonctionner les appareils avec votre voix.

Ouvert ou fermé?

Il existe des centres de contrôle ouverts et fermés pour les systèmes de maison intelligente. Les centres fermés fonctionnent avec un protocole radio spécifique au fabricant. Cela signifie que vous ne pouvez mettre en réseau que les appareils de ce fabricant et de ses partenaires de coopération. Cela limite considérablement votre choix, mais les appareils fonctionnent parfaitement ensemble et protègent mieux vos données. Les centres de contrôle ouverts prennent en charge diverses normes radio et sont compatibles avec de nombreux fabricants. Vous pouvez faire fonctionner tous les appareils avec une seule application.

Bon à savoir: si vous souhaitez faire fonctionner et contrôler à distance vos appareils avec votre smartphone, le centre de contrôle doit être compatible avec Homekit (pour iOS) ou Google Home (pour Android).

Astuce: avant d'acheter un système complet, essayez quelques composants simples tels que la commande d'éclairage. Si vous vous sentez à l'aise avec l'application et le fonctionnement, vous pouvez étendre le système étape par étape. Sinon, envisagez d'autres systèmes.

Appareils intelligents pour des tâches individuelles

Si vous souhaitez automatiser uniquement des tâches individuelles, vous n'avez pas à acheter un système complet. Il suffit souvent de remplacer des contrôleurs ou des commutateurs individuels. Par exemple, vous pouvez simplement remplacer l'ancienne ampoule par une lampe intelligente ou l'ancien thermostat du radiateur par un thermostat intelligent, télécharger l'application, c'est tout. Cela suffit pour régler la lumière en continu ou pour ajuster la température au dixième de degré, généralement même à distance.

Smart Home: un thermostat intelligent régule la température automatiquement.
Les thermostats intelligents baissent la température lorsque vous partez et l'augmentent à nouveau avant votre retour.

Installation ultérieure d’appareils Smart

Si vous avez commencé par une lampe, puis acheté un contrôleur pour le chauffage et finalement ajouté une caméra, dans le pire des cas, vous avez dû installer trois applications de trois fabricants différents. Voilà pourquoi vous ne pouvez pas faire fonctionner les appareils de manière centralisée. Il existe des plateformes en ligne gratuites telles que IFTTT (If This Then That) qui relient des solutions individuelles intelligentes via Internet. Ou Apple HomeKit et Google Home, qui fonctionnent également comme un centre de contrôle pour les appareils d'autres fabricants.

Connectez deux ou plusieurs appareils intelligents à un système

Si vous savez dès le départ que vous souhaitez mettre en réseau plus de deux appareils, vous devez acheter une solution de contrôle avec une station de base centrale. Vous n'avez qu'à installer un seul boîtier radio sur le routeur au lieu de Gateways pour chaque lampe, capteur et thermostat. Et vous pouvez facilement contrôler le système avec une seule application et l'automatiser facilement avec vos règles. Les kits de démarrage avec un centre de contrôle et des récepteurs et émetteurs d'ordre sont disponibles chez les revendeurs spécialisés pour quelques centaines de francs.

Astuce: les systèmes de Smart Home peuvent être configurés et étendus sur une base modulaire. Vous pouvez commencer petit et étendre le système progressivement. Assurez-vous que tous les appareils utilisent la même norme sans fil, par exemple EnOcean, ZigBee ou Z-Ware.
smart home banner

Lorsque vous construisez ou rénovez

L'automatisation des bâtiments avec un système de bus est plus sûre, plus économique en termes de consommation d'énergie et plus puissante qu'une installation sans fil via WLAN ou Bluetooth. Si vous construisez ou rénovez votre maison ou votre appartement, l'électricien peut poser les câbles de commande dans les murs sans problème. Ainsi, vous pouvez facilement connecter des interrupteurs et des prises sur le système plus tard. Vous avez le choix entre les systèmes fermés d'un fabricant ou les systèmes ouverts tels que KNX, une norme de domotique qui est maintenant soutenue par plus de 500 entreprises.

Astuces: si vous ne voulez pas (encore) installer un système de Smart Home, vous devriez quand même faire installer des conduits dans toutes les pièces. De cette façon, vous êtes préparé pour l'avenir et vous augmentez la valeur de la propriété. Si les normes changent entre-temps, il suffit de remplacer les câbles.

Et qu'en est-il de la sécurité ?

Chaque appareil de Smart Home collecte vos données pour accomplir ses tâches et est connecté à l'Internet. Le réfrigérateur reconnaît ce qui manque et commande en ligne les aliments manquants. Il stocke ces données. Tout comme le système de chauffage, qui doit savoir quand vous partez et revenez à la maison afin de pouvoir ajuster la température. Les habitudes de vie peuvent être déduites de ces données. La plupart de ces données ne sont pas sensibles, mais certaines le sont, par exemple les données relatives à votre santé, ou à votre carte de crédit. C'est pourquoi vous devez être prudent et combler les éventuelles lacunes en matière de sécurité:

  • Après l'installation, changez tous les noms d'utilisateur et mots de passe par défaut par des noms d'utilisateur et mots de passe individuels que vous seul connaissez et que vous n'écrivez nulle part.
  • Protégez l'ensemble du système de Smart Home grâce à un pare-feu, des droits d'accès et un cryptage supplémentaire.
  • Installez régulièrement toutes les mises à jour de l'appareil et n'installez que les mises à jour que vous recevez directement du fabricant.
  • Changez régulièrement vos noms d'utilisateur et vos mots de passe et ne les écrivez jamais.
La plupart des systèmes Smart Home sont faciles à installer. Pour les tâches plus complexes, par exemple les actionneurs d'un moteur de volet roulant ou un interrupteur de 230 volts, faites appel à un électricien.

Articles similaires

Retour au Magazine Houzy