Our smart property search
Start now

Feng Shui: How to Arrange Your Home Harmoniously

7.1.2021

In winter, we spend more time indoors than outdoors. And since Corona and home office, many of us leave the house or flat even less. This makes it all the more important to have a beautiful home in which you feel safe and comfortable. With Feng Shui, a millennia-old harmony theory from China, you can change your well-being in your own four walls or individual rooms.

Five elements in harmony

Feng Shui is pronounced Fong Schweyi and literally means wind (Feng) and water (Shui). Chi, the force or energy that flows through the entire cosmos, plays a central role in the theory of harmony. The aim of Feng Shui is to allow the Chi to flow uninhibited through the living space. When the energy flows neither too fast nor too slow, we feel safe and secure. There are various teachings such as the teachings of the five elements earth, fire, wood, metal and water, which describe the states of Chi. All elements need to be in harmony to improve the flow of energy. If a room lacks wood, a parquet floor could strengthen the Chi.

Shapes, colours, materials

Feng Shui consultants work with a Feng Shui compass (Bagua), analyse the light spectrum and arrange gardens, houses, rooms or flats with the right shapes, colours and materials. To do this, they divide the floor plan into so-called houses, which are grouped around the Tai Chi. Tai Chi is the centre, symbolises health and balance and should be left free. The eight other houses represent eight important areas of life: Family, helpful friends, career, children, partnership, wealth, fame and knowledge. This plan is called a bagua and is laid over the floor plan and assigns corners, areas or rooms to the individual houses so that the chi flows freely. However, you can already change and positively influence a lot with simpler measures.

With the Feng Shui Compass, Feng Shui consultants arrange rooms harmoniously
Feng Shui consultants work with a Feng Shui compass. But it also works without.

Feng Shui is also simple

There is no patent remedy and no one-size-fits-all solution. But with these ten simple tips you can improve the energy flow in your home - without a Feng Shui consultant...

  • Tidy up and get rid of things you no longer need. But don't overdo it: a bare room is uncomfortable and bad for your well-being.
  • Outside, the light changes in the course of the day. Simulate this with several light sources for different lighting moods. Bright light in the home office and kitchen, soft light in the living room and bedroom. Curtains should be translucent and not completely darken the room.
  • Round shapes allow the chi to flow better than square ones, for example a round table better than a square one. Therefore, choose decorative objects with organic shapes.
  • Do not place the bed between the door and the window. Ideally, you can see the door when you are lying in bed. If this is not possible, a wind chime will bring the chi back into balance. The head of the bed should be against a wall, with no pictures or shelves hanging above it. Do not hide clutter under your bed, it will only disturb your sleep.
  • Mirrors don't belong in the bedroom because they reflect energy, but they do belong in the living area. Because they reflect beauty, bring width into the room and open up the view to the back. But be careful with mirrors opposite the entrance door: Visitors can feel unwelcome.
  • Glasses, shiny surfaces and mirrors stimulate the flow of energy. Decorate your living room with candlesticks, crystal bowls or wind chimes, for example.
  • Stellen Sie das Sofa oder den Schreibtisch so auf, dass Sie die Türe sehen und sie nicht im Rücken haben. Am besten an eine Wand, dann fühlen Sie sich richtig sicher und gut aufgehoben.
  • In the home office, make sure that you do not look directly out of the window.
  • With plants on the windowsill, the chi is not lost the window area, fluttering plants on the floor keep the life energy in the room longer. Plants strengthen the Chi. But take good care of them, old bouquets or dead plants have the opposite effect.
  • Adapt the decoration to the season. For example, with leaves, flowers, shells, stones, a bowl of water or an indoor fountain.

Houzy Advice

Good to know

Feng Shui also works without symbols. The life energy chi flows even without Buddha statues, chimes or crystals if you furnish your house or flat according to the harmony theory.

Ask questions about Feng Shui in the Houzy Community Forum

Questions about Feng Shui?

To the Community Forum

Feng Shui: the five elements

It is important for the energy flow that all elements are in balance. Then they strengthen the Chi. A brief overview of the five elements, their colours and what you can influence with them:

  • Earth stands for the houses of partnership and knowledge and the central Tai Chi. Yellow and brown dominate the colours. Natural materials such as ceramics, linen, porcelain, terracotta, clay or stone reinforce the influence of the element earth.
  • Fire stands for the House of Fame. In terms of colour, red and orange dominate. Candles, a fireplace, lamps or furniture with corners and edges reinforce the influence of the element fire.
  • Wood stands for the houses of family and wealth. Green dominates in terms of colour. Furniture made of bamboo or wood, tall and slender shapes, cut flowers or indoor plants reinforce the influence of the element wood.
  • Metal stands for helpful friends and children. Gold, silver and white dominate in terms of colour. Glass, crystals, matt or shiny metals and round shapes reinforce the influence of the element metal.
  • Water stands for career. In terms of colour, blue, black and violet dominate. Aquariums, pictures or photographs with rivers, wet plants, glass, furniture with wavy or irregular shapes and silk reinforce the influence of the element water.

Houzy Advice

Good to know

Feng Shui is independent of your living style. The theory of harmony works just as well in an old house as in a new flat - regardless of whether you have furnished your home in a modern or country style.

What do you think about Feng Shui? Discuss with other Houzy users in our community. The forum, like all Houzy services, is free. Try it out.

Related articles

Back to Houzy Magazine

Feng Shui: Comment trouver l'harmonie chez soi

7.1.21

En hiver, nous passons plus de temps à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur. Ajoutez Corona et le télétravail, et les occasions pour sortir de chez soi deviennent de plus en plus rares. Il est donc d'autant plus important d'avoir une belle maison dans laquelle on se sent bien. Avec le Feng Shui, théorie millénaire de l'harmonie venue de Chine, vous pouvez avoir un impact sur votre bien-être au sein de votre foyer.

Les cinq éléments en harmonie

Feng Shui se prononce Feng Schweyi et signifie littéralement vent (Feng) et eau (Shui). Le Chi, la force ou l'énergie qui traverse tout le cosmos, joue un rôle central dans la théorie de l'harmonie. Le but du Feng Shui est de laisser le chi circuler sans contrôle dans l'espace de vie. Lorsque l'énergie ne circule ni trop rapidement ni trop lentement, nous nous sentons en sécurité. Il existe divers enseignements tel que l'enseignement des cinq éléments terre, feu, bois, métal et eau, qui décrivent les états du chi. Tous les éléments doivent être en harmonie afin d'améliorer le flux d'énergie. Si par exemple une pièce manque de bois, du parquet pourra renforcer le chi.

Formes, couleurs, matières

Les conseillers Feng Shui travaillent avec une boussole Feng Shui (bagua), analysent le spectre lumineux et aménagent les jardins, maisons, chambres ou appartements avec les bonnes formes, couleurs et matériaux. Pour ce faire, ils divisent le plan d'étage en soi-disant maisons, qui sont regroupées autour du Tai Chi. Le Tai Chi est le centre, il symbolise la santé et l'équilibre et devrait être laissé libre. Les huit autres maisons représentent huit domaines importants de la vie: la famille, les amis serviables, la carrière, les enfants, le partenariat, la richesse, la renommée et la connaissance. Ce plan s'appelle Bagua, il est placé sur le plan d'étage et attribue des coins, des surfaces ou des pièces aux maisons individuelles afin que le Chi puisse circuler sans entrave. Mais il existe beaucoup de mesures simples pour influencer positivement le Chi.

Avec la boussole Feng Shui, les conseillers Feng Shui arrangent les pièces harmonieusement
Les conseillers Feng Shui travaillent avec une boussole Feng Shui. Mais cela fonctionne aussi sans.

Le Feng Shui pour les débutants

Il n'y a pas de solution miracle ni de solution universelle. Avec ces dix conseils simples, vous pouvez améliorer le flux d'énergie dans votre maison - sans conseiller Feng Shui ...

  • Nettoyez et débarrassez-vous des objets dont vous n'avez plus besoin. Mais n'en faites pas trop: une pièce nue est inconfortable et nuit à votre bien-être.
  • Au fil de la journée, la lumière extérieure change. Simulez cela avec plusieurs sources de lumière pour différentes ambiances d'éclairage. Lumière vive dans le bureau et dans la cuisine, lumière douce dans le salon et la chambre. Les rideaux doivent être translucides et ne pas assombrir complètement la pièce.
  • Les formes rondes permettent au chi de mieux circuler que les angles, par exemple une table ronde mieux qu'une table carrée. Choisissez donc des objets de décoration aux formes organiques.
  • Ne placez pas le lit entre la porte et la fenêtre. Idéalement, vous pouvez voir la porte lorsque vous êtes au lit. Si cela ne fonctionne pas, un carillon à vent rétablit l'équilibre du chi. La tête du lit doit être contre un mur, sans images ni étagères suspendues au-dessus. Ne cachez pas le bazar sous votre lit, cela ne fera que perturber votre sommeil.
  • Les miroirs n'ont pas leur place dans la chambre car ils réfléchissent l'énergie, mais dans les pièces de vie. Là ils reflètent de belles choses, apportent de la profondeur dans la pièce et ouvrent votre vue vers l'arrière. Mais attention aux miroirs en face de la porte d'entrée: les visiteurs peuvent se sentir importuns.
  • Les verres, les surfaces brillantes et les miroirs stimulent le flux d'énergie. Aménagez votre salon avec des bougeoirs, des bols en cristal ou des carillons éoliens, par exemple.
  • Installez le canapé ou le bureau de manière à ce que vous puissiez voir la porte et ne pas l'avoir derrière vous. Idéalement contre un mur, vous vous sentirez vraiment en sécurité et entre de bonnes mains.
  • Lorsque vous travaillez à domicile, assurez-vous que vous ne regardez pas directement par la fenêtre.
  • Avec des plantes sur le rebord de la fenêtre, le chi n'est pas perdu sur la surface de la fenêtre, les plantes flottantes sur le sol conservent l'énergie vitale dans la pièce plus longtemps. Les plantes renforcent le chi. Mais prenez bien soin d'elles, les vieux bouquets ou les plantes mortes font le contraire.
  • Adaptez la décoration à la saison. Par exemple avec des feuilles, des fleurs, des coquillages, des pierres, un bol d'eau ou une fontaine d'intérieur.
Bon à savoir: le Feng Shui fonctionne également sans symboles. L'énergie vitale Chi circule même sans statues de Bouddha, carillons ou cristaux, si vous meublez votre maison ou votre appartement selon la théorie de l'harmonie.

Posez vos questions sur le Feng Shui dans le Forum Houzy

Feng Shui: Les cinq éléments

Il est important pour le flux d'énergie que tous les éléments soient en équilibre. C'est ainsi qu'ils renforcent le chi. Un bref aperçu des cinq éléments, de leurs couleurs et de ce qu'ils influencent:

  • La Terre représente le partenariat et la connaissance et le Tai Chi central. Le jaune et le brun dominent en termes de couleur. Les matériaux naturels tels que la céramique, le lin, la porcelaine, la terre cuite, l'argile ou la pierre renforcent l'influence de l'élément terre.
  • Le feu représente la renommée de la maison. En termes de couleur, le rouge et l'orange dominent. Des bougies, une cheminée, des luminaires ou des meubles avec des angles et des bords renforcent l'influence de l'élément feu.
  • Le bois représente la famille et la richesse. La couleur est dominée par le vert. Des meubles en bambou ou en bois, des formes hautes et élancées, des fleurs coupées ou des plantes d'intérieur renforcent l'influence de l'élément bois.
  • Le métal est synonyme d'amis et d'enfants. L'or, l'argent et le blanc sont ses couleurs. Le verre, les cristaux, les métaux mats ou brillants ainsi que les formes rondes augmentent l'influence de l'élément métal.
  • L'eau est synonyme de carrière. En termes de couleur, le bleu, le noir et le violet dominent. Aquariums, tableaux ou photographies avec des rivières, plantes humides, verre, meubles aux formes ondulées ou irrégulières et la soie renforcent l'influence de l'élément eau.

Bon à savoir: le Feng Shui est indépendant de votre style de vie. La théorie de l'harmonie fonctionne aussi bien dans une vieille maison que dans un nouvel appartement - que vous ayez meublé votre maison dans un style moderne ou campagnard.

Que pensez-vous du Feng Shui? Discutez-en avec les autres utilisateurs de la communauté Houzy. Comme tous les services Houzy, le forum est gratuit. Essaye-le.

Articles similaires

Retour au Magazine Houzy