Urban Gardening: Small Gardens on the Balcony or Terrace

June 2, 2022
  1. What is Urban Gardening?
  2. Planning and shopping
  3. Planting or sowing?
  4. Urban Gardening: appropriate flowers
  5. Urban Gardening: appropriate fruits
  6. Urban Gardening: appropriate vegetables
  7. Urban Gardening: appropriate seedlings
  8. Urban Gardening: appropriate herbs
  9. BOUM one guarantees plant success without stress

Do you want to turn your balcony into a flower paradise, prepare pesto alla genovese with basil from your herb garden or pick fresh strawberries on your terrace? Thanks to urban gardening, you no longer need a garden for that - a balcony or terrace is enough. We explain what you need for an urban garden, what you can plant and what alternatives you have if you lack a green thumb.

What is Urban Gardening?

In the early 19th century, factory workers in small German towns planted the first allotment gardens to provide their families with fruits and vegetables. Since the 1970s, New Yorkers have been planting flowers, fruits, vegetables and herbs in community gardens and coined the term "urban gardening" with these community gardens. Today, urban gardening is a worldwide trend. More and more people are planting flowers, vegetables or herbs on their balcony, in their garden or on their terrace. On the one hand, because gardening is fun and relaxing, and on the other, because basil, strawberries or tomatoes from one's own garden taste fresher and more delicious. The Coronavirus pandemic has further strengthened the need for a small flowering paradise at home.

BOUM

Complete smart plant systems from Boum

Never stress about watering plants again: The smart watering system from Boum ensures an optimal plant climate.
More about BOUM system

Planning and shopping

For your urban garden, all you need is a corner on the balcony, in the garden or on the terrace. The right plants, enough sun and water are important. Almost anything can be used as a container, it doesn't have to be a container from the garden centre: For example, a wooden box or barrel. More important is the volume of the container: at least 4.5 litres, preferably 15 litres, to ensure growth. The right substrate (soil) and a good fertiliser are also important. Depending on what you want to plant or sow, you need different soil. For example, for flowers, strawberries, vegetables, herbs or tomatoes. That is why you should plan the urban garden before you buy.

Houzy Hint

Tip

Do not underestimate how much soil some plants need. Large plants like cucumbers, peppers or tomatoes need a pot with at least 15 litres of soil to grow and thrive..

Planting or sowing?

Whether you sow seeds or plant seedlings is less important than the time of planting. Some plants you can only plant or sow at certain times. Now, in June, for example, you should buy tomato seedlings instead of tomato seeds because it is too late to raise them. Once you have sown or planted everything, you need to water all the flowers, vegetables or herbs regularly. Too much or too little water can be just as damaging as too much or too little sun or draught. If you register your new plants with our plant guide, you will receive valuable care tips - water requirements, location, frost hardiness, fertiliser as well as soil - and a seasonal garden calendar.

Houzy Hint

Tip

Planting a raised bed is easier and more convenient than having to bend down for hours. You can read how to build a raised bed in 7 steps in «Gartenkalender: Das sollten Sie im März erledigen».

Urban Gardening: Raised bed with flowers
With a raised bed, you don't have to bend down every time you want to water, tend or prune your plants.

Urban Gardening: appropriate flowers

With flowers you can create colourful accents on the balcony, in the garden or on the terrace. It is best to plant low-maintenance flowers that bloom for as long as possible.

  • For shady spots robust flowers such as begonias, busy lilies, fuchsias, hydrangeas or starflowers are appropriate.
  • For sunny spots light-loving flowers such as bougainvillea, clematis, lavender, oleander, petunias or roses are suitable.

Urban Gardening: appropriate fruits

For fruits you need a sunny spot sheltered from the wind. Strawberries, kiwis or Cape gooseberries (physalis) need a lot of sun and tolerate draughts very badly. If your urban garden is often in the shade, you should plant wild strawberries. Berries or columnar fruit are a good alternative for indoors if you have (too) little space outside. Column fruit are, for example, apples, cherries or plums that have been bred to stay small and grow indoors.

Urban Gardening: appropriate vegetables

Most urban gardeners plant vegetables. It is best to plant the seedlings in growing soil and later transplant the vegetables into compost or fill the container with compost. Plant stairs or plant ladders are best for vegetables: the sun-loving varieties at the top, the thirsty varieties at the bottom.

  • For shady spots various lettuces and cabbages as well as radishes are appropriate, but beans, peas, rhubarb or spinach also need only a few hours of sun a day.
  • For sunny spots aubergines, cucumbers, chard, mini courgettes, chillies or tomatoes are appropriate. Plant out different varieties of tomatoes, the variety is huge and surprising.

Houzy Hint

Tip

Too much humidity is harmful to most vegetables. That is why you should protect your vegetables from rain during longer periods of bad weather, if necessary in your house or flat.

Tomato plants on the balcony
Tomatoes from your own city balcony taste better than those from the supermarket.


Urban Gardening: appropriate seedlings

Seedlings, as well known as microgreens, are rich in vitamins, minerals and secondary plant substances. With few exceptions, all vegetable or herb seeds are suitable for growing seedlings. Carrots, coriander, cress, radishes, red cabbage or sunflowers, for example, are suitable; nightshade plants such as aubergines, potatoes or tomatoes are unsuitable. Herb or vegetable seedlings can be used to garnish soups, salads or bowls, for example.

Urban Gardening: appropriate herbs

Herbs are particularly popular with urban gardeners. On the one hand they need little space, on the other they are easy to care for. A few window boxes filled with special herb soil are sufficient for a herb garden. Sprouts from the market or garden centre and seeds can be planted or sown in small boxes and pots that will even fit on a window sill. You should start basil, dill, parsley or chives in mid to late April, after that it is too late. Full-grown herbs, as sold in many grocery shops, are only something for impatient gardeners who need herbs for salad or basil for a pesto.


There are herbs that prefer the same locations and feel comfortable in the same pot:

  • Tarragon, sage, chives, thyme and lemon balm
  • Savory, oregano and sage
  • Tarragon, pimpernell and lemon balm
  • Borage, dill, chervil, marjoram and parsley

But not all herbs get along because they have different demands on the location:

  • Parsley and chives
  • Peppermint and sage
  • Tarragon and rosemary
  • Marjoram and thyme

Houzy Hint

Tip

If space is tight on the balcony or terrace, or you want to create a large herb garden, hanging shelves and plant bags that you can find in DIY stores are an alternative.

BOUM one smart gardening system from Boum
The smart complete system BOUM one by Boum, a Bernese start-up, is available in three sizes.

BOUM one guarantees plant success without stress

There are simple smart gardening solutions for urban gardens that automatically water the vegetables, for example. Smarter is the complete system BOUM one, which a Bernese start-up has developed with the University of Bern, the Bern University of Applied Sciences and other partners. BOUM one consists of five coordinated components:

  1. Irrigation: The solar-powered Boum Box is the centrepiece. It consists of a 30-litre water tank with pump and sensors. The sensors measure the water level, flow rate and temperature and report all data to the Boum app via WLAN. One tank filling supplies the plants with water for 3 to 4 weeks.
  2. Plant pots: The Boum plant pots optimally supply the plants with water via subirrigation, i.e. from below. They are connected to the box via a clever hose system. In addition, you have a 3-litre water reservoir for up to 6 days.
  3. Biology: The Boum plant kits contain optimised seeds for herbs, vegetables or flowers that are guaranteed to thrive.
  4. Substrate: The Boum substrate is biologically fertilised, provides the plants with nutrients and binds CO2. The natural substrate is a by-product of forestry and agriculture and lasts at least 10 years.
  5. App: The Boum app keeps you informed, warns you when the water is running low and gives you valuable gardening tips and planting suggestions.

The complete system with or without raised bed is perfect for urban gardeners who have little time or no green thumb. BOUM one is available in 3 variants and can be easily configured online (size, colours, plants). Boum even gives a guarantee of success.

Related articles

Urban Gardening: plantes en pots

Urban Gardening: des petits jardins sur le balcon ou la terrasse

2
.
June
2022
  1. Qu'est-ce que l'Urban Gardening?
  2. Planifier et acheter
  3. Planter ou semer ?
  4. Urban Gardening: fleurs appropriées
  5. Urban Gardening: fruits appropriés
  6. Urban Gardening: légumes appropriés
  7. Urban Gardening: pousses appropriées
  8. Urban Gardening: herbes aromatiques appropriées

Vous voulez transformer votre balcon en un paradis floral, préparer du pesto alla genovese avec du basilic de votre jardin d'herbes aromatiques ou cueillir des fraises fraîches sur votre terrasse ? Aujourd'hui, grâce à l'Urban Gardening, vous n'avez plus besoin d'un jardin pour cela - un balcon ou une terrasse suffisent. Nous vous expliquons ce dont vous avez besoin pour un jardin urbain, ce que vous pouvez cultiver et quelles alternatives s'offrent à vous si vous n'avez pas la main verte.

Qu'est-ce que l'Urban Gardening?

Au début du 19e siècle, les ouvriers d'usine des petites villes allemandes ont créé les premiers jardins ouvriers pour approvisionner leur famille en fruits et légumes. Depuis les années 1970, les New-Yorkais plantent des fleurs, des fruits, des légumes et des herbes aromatiques dans des community gardens et ont forgé le terme "Urban Gardening" avec ces jardins communautaires. Aujourd'hui, le jardinage urbain est devenu une tendance dans le monde entier. De plus en plus de personnes cultivent principalement des fleurs, des légumes ou des herbes aromatiques sur leur balcon, leur jardin ou leur terrasse. D'une part parce que le jardinage est un plaisir et une source de détente, d'autre part parce que le basilic, les fraises ou les tomates de son propre jardin ont un goût plus frais et plus savoureux. La pandémie de Corona a encore renforcé le besoin d'un petit paradis fleuri à la maison.

Guide des plantes Houzy - reconnaître une plante

Reconnaître une plante avec une photo

Avec le Guide des plantes Houzy, identifiez des plantes simplement et obtenez des astuces d'entretien selon la saison.
Identifier une plante

Planifier et acheter

Pour votre jardin urbain, il vous suffit d'un coin sur votre balcon, dans votre jardin ou sur votre terrasse. Il est important d'avoir les bonnes plantes, suffisamment de soleil et d'eau. Presque tout peut servir de récipient, il n'est pas nécessaire d'utiliser des récipients de la jardinerie. Par exemple, une caisse en bois ou un tonneau font l'affaire. Le volume du récipient est plus important: au moins 4,5 litres, idéalement 15 litres, pour garantir la croissance. Le substrat (terreau) adéquat et un bon engrais sont également importants. Selon ce que vous voulez planter ou semer, vous avez besoin d'un terreau différent. Par exemple, pour les fleurs, les fraises, les légumes, les herbes ou les tomates. Vous devez donc planifier votre jardin urbain avant de faire vos achats.

Houzy Hint

Conseil

Ne sous-estimez pas la quantité de terre dont certaines plantes ont besoin. Les grandes plantes comme les concombres, les poivrons ou les tomates ont besoin d'un pot contenant au moins 15 litres de terre pour pouvoir pousser et s'épanouir.

Planter ou semer ?

Le fait de semer des graines ou de planter des jeunes plants est moins important que le moment de la plantation. Vous ne pouvez planter ou semer certaines plantes qu'à certaines périodes. Maintenant par exemple, en juin, vous devriez acheter des plants de tomates plutôt que des graines de tomates, car il est trop tard pour les faire pousser. Une fois que vous avez tout semé ou planté, vous devez arroser régulièrement toutes les fleurs, les légumes ou les herbes aromatiques. Trop ou trop peu d'eau peut être tout aussi néfaste que trop ou trop peu de soleil ou de courant d'air. Si vous enregistrez vos nouvelles plantes à l'aide de notre Guide des plantes, vous obtiendrez de précieux conseils d'entretien - besoins en eau, emplacement, résistance au gel, engrais et terreau - et un calendrier saisonnier de jardinage.

Houzy Hint

Conseil

Planter un parterre surélevé est plus facile et plus confortable que de devoir se baisser pendant des heures. Pour savoir comment construire un parterre surélevé en 7 étapes, lisez l'article «Calendrier de jardinage: que faire en mars».

Urban Gardening: Parterre surélevé avec des fleurs
Avec un parterre surélevé, vous n'avez pas besoin de vous baisser à chaque fois que vous voulez arroser, entretenir ou tailler vos plantes.

Urban Gardening: fleurs appropriées

Les fleurs permettent d'apporter des touches colorées sur le balcon, dans le jardin ou sur la terrasse. Il est préférable de planter des fleurs faciles à entretenir et qui fleurissent le plus longtemps possible.

  • Les fleurs robustes comme les bégonias, les chénopodes, les fuchsias, les hortensias ou les fleurs étoilées sont idéales pour les coins ombragés.
  • Les fleurs qui aiment la lumière, comme les bougainvillées, les clématites, la lavande, les lauriers-roses, les pétunias ou les roses, sont idéales pour les coins ensoleillés.

Urban Gardening: fruits appropriés

Pour les fruits, il faut un endroit ensoleillé et à l'abri du vent. Les fraises, les kiwis ou les physalis ont besoin de beaucoup de soleil et ne supportent que très mal les courants d'air. Si votre jardin urbain est souvent à l'ombre, vous devriez planter des fraises des bois. Les baies ou les fruits en colonne sont une bonne alternative pour l'intérieur si vous avez trop peu de place à l'extérieur. Cela concerne par exemple les pommes, les cerises ou les prunes qui ont été cultivées de manière à rester petites et à pouvoir pousser à l'intérieur.

Urban Gardening: légumes appropriés

La plupart des jardinier∙ère∙s urbain∙e∙s plantent des légumes. Il est préférable de planter les jeunes plants dans du terreau de culture et de replanter ensuite les légumes dans du compost ou de remplir le récipient de compost. Pour les légumes, les escaliers de plantation ou les échelles de plantes sont les plus appropriés: les variétés qui aiment le soleil en haut, les variétés qui ont soif en bas.

  • Pour les petits coins ombragés, différentes sortes de salades vertes et de choux ainsi que les radis conviennent, mais les haricots, les petits pois, la rhubarbe ou les épinards n'ont besoin que de quelques heures de soleil par jour.
  • Les aubergines, les concombres, les blettes, les mini-courgettes, les poivrons ou les tomates conviennent aux petits coins ensoleillés. Plantez différentes variétés de tomates, la diversité est énorme et surprenante.

Houzy Hint

Conseil

Trop d'humidité nuit à la plupart des légumes. C'est pourquoi vous devriez mettre vos légumes à l'abri de la pluie pendant les longues périodes de mauvais temps, si nécessaire dans votre maison ou votre appartement.


Urban Gardening: pousses appropriées

Les graines germées ou pousses, appelées aussi microgreens, sont riches en vitamines, en minéraux et en substances végétales secondaires. À quelques exceptions près, toutes les graines de légumes ou d'herbes aromatiques conviennent à la culture de pousses. Les carottes, la coriandre, le cresson, les radis, le chou rouge ou les tournesols sont par exemple adaptés, les solanacées comme les aubergines, les pommes de terre ou les tomates ne le sont pas. Les germes d'herbes ou de légumes peuvent par exemple garnir des soupes, des salades ou des bols.

Plants de tomates sur le balcon
Les tomates cultivées sur son propre balcon en ville sont plus savoureuses que celles achetées au supermarché.

Urban Gardening: herbes aromatiques appropriées

Les herbes aromatiques sont particulièrement appréciées des jardiniers urbains. D'une part, elles ont besoin de peu de place et d'autre part, elles sont faciles à entretenir. Pour un jardin d'herbes aromatiques, il suffit de quelques jardinières que vous remplissez de terreau spécial pour herbes aromatiques. Vous pouvez planter ou semer des pousses achetées au marché ou dans une jardinerie et des graines dans de petites caisses et des pots qui peuvent même être placés sur un rebord de fenêtre. Le basilic, l'aneth, le persil ou la ciboulette doivent être plantés entre mi-avril et fin avril, après quoi il sera trop tard. Les herbes aromatiques adultes, telles qu'elles sont vendues dans de nombreux magasins d'alimentation, ne sont destinées qu'aux jardiniers impatients qui ont besoin d'herbes pour la salade ou de basilic pour un pesto.

Il y a des herbes qui préfèrent les mêmes endroits et qui se sentent bien dans le même pot:

  • estragon, sauge, ciboulette, thym et mélisse citronnelle
  • sarriette, origan et sauge
  • estragon, pimprenelle et mélisse citronnelle
  • bourrache, aneth, cerfeuil, marjolaine et persil

Mais toutes les herbes ne s'entendent pas, car elles ont des exigences différentes quant à l'emplacement:

  • persil et ciboulette
  • menthe poivrée et sauge
  • estragon et romarin
  • marjolaine et thym

Houzy Hint

Conseil

Si vous manquez de place sur votre balcon ou votre terrasse ou si vous souhaitez créer un grand jardin d'herbes aromatiques, les étagères suspendues et les sacs à plantes que vous trouverez dans les magasins de bricolage sont une alternative.

Avec notre Guide des plantes, vous identifiez les plantes inconnues à l'aide d'une photo et recevez de précieux conseils d'entretien pour plus de 40'000 plantes. Grâce au calendrier de jardinage simple, vous savez à tout moment de quoi vos plantes ont besoin et ce qu'il faut faire à un moment donné - même si vous n'avez pas la main verte.

Articles similaires